2009 Prabayar Celcom Blue, Malaysia

11 December 2009, Friday

I bought the Prabayar (Prepaid) Celcom Blue at the Langkawi International Airport while in Langkawi for the LIMA 2009. There is a Celcom booth near the Kenny Rogers Restaurant.

I did not buy the Celcom prepaid broadband starter pack at RM25 as I also wanted sms and voice call functions to be used while in Malaysia.

http://www.celcom.com.my/broadband/html/broadband_prepaid.html

I applied through sms for the Celcom seven days prepaid broadband at RM20 or you can dial *118#.

However, using the Starhub Huawei E1550, I was not able to get 3G signal, only GPRS or EDGE and it kept disconnecting most of the time. Even using my handphone, it stayed at 2G signal instead of 3G.

I could not use the internet in the early morning or evening while in Langkawi.

I hope that things will improve when I’m back in Langkawi for the LIMA 2011.

]1[ Prabayar Celcom Blue package with my Starhub Huawei E1550.

]2[ Unable to surf using the Celcom Blue at the Langkawi International airport in the morning.

Update: 180210(Thu).

Apparently, you have to request for a free of charge upgrade to 3G  and it is not automatically activated to 3G.

Type SET and sms to 20999.

Alternatively, you can dial *118# and follow the instructions provided.

Dial *118# -> Services -> FOC upgrade to 3G

http://www.celcom.com.my/celcomblue/ciriciriasas/gprs_wap_3g.php

The APN name for Prabayar Celcom Broadband is “celcom3g” and the number to dial is *99#

More information from the Lowyat forum website about Celcom.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/917571

0 Responses to “2009 Prabayar Celcom Blue, Malaysia”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

